What Scares You the Most?

Scary: causing fear

According to Merriam-webster.com the first known use of the word scary was in 1582. That’s 433 years of humans knowing the name for that feeling of being frightened, terrified, alarmed, horrified, or shocked.

What causes chills up your spine and the hair on the back of your neck to stand up?  What keeps you awake at night?

I’m currently writing a scary short story for a writing contest called “I Made the Darkness” and I’ve been spending this week thinking about all the things that scare me. I’ve always liked scary movies and books, so I’ve been reminiscing about all the scariest movies I’ve seen and books I’ve read.

I remember when I was about 8 years old and I watched The Last Unicorn and was frightened of the Mommy Fortuna character. She is quite a terrifying character for a cartoon. The Exorcist is definitely in my top 10 scariest movies. Along with The Ring, It, The Blair Witch Project, and Poltergeist.

When I was around 12 or 13 years old I read The Amityville Horror – only during the day though. HAHA! I’ve read a lot of Stephen King’s books. Some of the scariest books I’ve read are Cujo, Pet Sematary, Thinner, and of course the work of Edgar Allan Poe.

How about you? What are the scariest movies you’ve seen or books you’ve read? What are your biggest fears?

Leave a Reply

