Why Volunteer?

volunteer   [vol-uh n-teer]

noun 
1. a person who voluntarily offers himself or herself for a service or undertaking.

2. a person who performs a service willingly and without pay.

Watching my mother volunteer is what inspired me to do the same. I have volunteered at many places since I was a teen: Fundraisers, tutoring, social chair, teaching assistant, safety rep, Relay For Life committee, and parent council, are some at the forefront of my memory. Whenever I start feeling depressed, or lost, I volunteer. It always helps to center my mind, and remember what is most important in life.

“It’s easy to make a buck.  It’s a lot tougher to make a difference.”  ~Tom Brokaw

Some people think only rich people, or retired people, have the time to volunteer. That is simply not true. The size of your paycheck or bank account has nothing to do with being able to give a little time to help others.

“Remember that the happiest people are not those getting more, but those giving more.” ― H. Jackson Brown Jr.

Volunteering is not a “woman” thing.
My husband volunteers at our children’s school sometimes, and he loves it. I swear, volunteering together is better than marriage counseling. Give it a try sometime, and let me know how it goes. 🙂

Volunteer when you can.
Some of us can volunteer everyday, others once a month. The more you do it, the better you’ll feel.

“Volunteers are paid in six figures… S-M-I-L-E-S.”  ~Gayla LeMaire
Since September, I’ve been volunteering at my children’s school, helping with school trips, parent council fundraisers, hot lunch program, and I also work there part-time doing lunch supervision/yard duty. I’ve been able to get to know many of the kids at the school. One of the little girls, Kelly Mae, was moving to a new house, and a new school, so she made me a going-away present.

Kelly Mae's picture

Kelly Mae’s picture

As she handed it to me, she told me she loved me, and would miss me. It took everything in my to not bawl my eyes out right then and there. When I got to my van, I cried, tears flowing down my face. Children are amazing, and they will appreciate you in ways that adults never can. As we grow up, we somehow lose the ability to tell friends exactly how much they mean to us for fear of sounding “corny”.

Volunteering provides health benefits
Volunteering helps you feel like you are part of something, which will help anyone who feels lonely, or is struggling with depression. There is an increasing amount of evidence that shows those who volunteer have lower blood pressure, increased physical activity, and even increased memory retention.

doing good does you good

Everybody can be great.  Because anybody can serve.  You don’t have to have a college degree to serve.  You don’t have to make your subject and your verb agree to serve…. You don’t have to know the second theory of thermodynamics in physics to serve.  You only need a heart full of grace.  A soul generated by love.”  ~Martin Luther King, Jr.

There is no such thing as “the right time” or “when I have more time”.
We all have 24 hours in each day, and 7 days in a week. You have the ability to choose what you will do with the time you have.

Help one another; there’s no time like the present and no present like the time.  ~James Durst

Volunteering can help improve your career, or even find a career.
You’ll meet new people, learn new skills, try out new roles without job-hopping, and having volunteer work on your resume will help you stand out.

We cannot always build the future for our youth, but we can build our youth for the future.”  ~Franklin Delano Roosevelt

Lead By Example.
What impact does seeing you volunteer have on your children?
When your children see you giving your time and talent to help others, they will be more likely to do the same. Volunteering together as a family is one of the best ways to strengthen your family bond.

Are you now wondering where you could volunteer? It’s time to do a Google search, ask friends and family where they volunteer, and check your local paper.

If you volunteer let us know in the comments! I would love to hear more about what you do, how you help, and how it has helped you 🙂

3 thoughts on “Why Volunteer?

  1. I agree completely. Volunteerism is the easiest form of service. Service to others helps in so many ways – bringing people together, forming new relationships, and assisting with dealing with the symptoms of mental illness. Thank you for this blog.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

