Sinister Abode Part 1

I wrote a short story called Sinister Abode, for a writing contest a few months ago, after making the decision to get back to writing. It is my first piece of writing in over two decades other than my journals. Here is Part 1.

“Sinister Abode”

By Amanda Drover-Hartwick

“Sleep slowly fades away and almost immediately my head is pounding. I start to stretch and realize I’m not in my bed. Suddenly, I am aware that my face is pressed up against the grass. I open my eyes and sit up fast. UGH not a good idea, now my head is spinning. The sun is just starting to set. Why am I laying on the grass? How in the world did I get here? I’m trying hard to remember what happened and how I ended up here but I’m coming up blank. Ok, Addison – what is the last thing you remember? HEY! I remember I was driving in the car with Zack to the Halloween party. Where IS Zack?

 

I put both hands around my mouth and yell, “Zack”.

 

No response. I look around for the car but I don’t see it anywhere. I manage to get to my feet, turn around, and stumble back from shock. Standing before me is the house of my nightmares. It is a huge, old, house that has seen better days. A shiver runs up my spine and I feel as if the house is watching me. Did I just see something move in the upstairs window?

 

I can feel my heart pounding in my chest and notice I’ve been holding my breath.

 

I yell out Zack’s name again. I’m listening so hard for a response that I can hear my heart beating in my ears. My hands start shaking and I realize I am all alone, in front of this creepy house, no other houses in sight, and I have absolutely no idea how I got here. I start taking some deep breaths to calm myself down. I can feel my heart rate slowing and immediately hear a cry. What is that? Where is it coming from? Is that Zack? No it’s not Zack, it’s a BABY and it’s coming from inside the house.”

You can find Sinister Abode Part 2 here: https://amandadroverhartwick.wordpress.com/2015/11/27/sinister-abode-part-2/

2 thoughts on “Sinister Abode Part 1

  1. Pingback: Sinister Abode: Part 2 | Amanda's Words

  2. Pingback: Sinister Abode Part 3 | Amanda's Words

Leave a Reply

