Sinister Abode: Part 2

This is Part 2 of a short story I wrote called Sinister Abode. You can find Part 1 here: https://amandadroverhartwick.wordpress.com/2015/11/17/sinister-abode-part-1/

 

“I must be losing my mind. My forearm is stinging and red from pinching myself so many times. The baby is crying louder. PLEASE don’t make me go into that house. I hate old creepy houses. MY CELLPHONE! I’ll call for help! Where is my cell? It’s not in my back pocket where I normally keep it. I scan the ground and finally find it in the grass. My hands are shaking so badly I can barely press the button to turn it on. It’s not coming on.

“Shit. It’s dead.”

Maybe I should just run down the road and find help. I yell out Zack’s name again. I’m starting to sweat now in the cool autumn breeze. The baby starts crying louder. I’ll just knock on the door and see if anyone is home.

The wooden stairs squeak as I walk up to the front door. I knock on the door, it slowly swings open.

“Hello? Is there anyone home?” No answer. The baby is frantically crying in the room to my left. “Zack are you in here?”

I make my way into the room to my left towards the baby. Dust covers the sofa, and fireplace mantle. Above the fireplace is a large painting of a middle aged man, with short dark hair, straight lips, and holding a gun. His eyes follow me as I make my way to the doorway on my right. I walk through and see the dining room table with porcelain dolls sitting on each of the chairs facing my direction. I’ve never liked porcelain dolls. I can feel their eyes following me. I take the candle from the china cabinet. Darkness is coming. I’ll need this to have some light. I find a book of matches on the shelf and light the candle. The baby’s cries sound like they are coming from the next room. I go through the swing door and its hinges let out a high pitched squeak.

“Hello?”

The kitchen is enormous, and the smell is absolutely rancid. The bananas on the counter look as if they have been there for months. My stomach is turning and I feel like I’m going to be sick. Why does the crying baby sound keep moving? Is the baby crawling around?

BANG!

I run back into the dining room to see what the sound was and find one of the chairs tipped over. The porcelain dolls are all staring at me. Weren’t they facing the opposite direction before? Tingles start at my toes, work their way up my entire body, and finish with icy tentacles at the base of my neck reaching up to the top of my head.

Suddenly the baby is screaming! I run back into the kitchen, and go through the doorway on the right. It brings me into what looks like a library.

I feel something crawling on the back of my neck. Petrified, I wipe my neck and an enormous spider falls on the floor by my foot. Without hesitation I stomp on it and feel slightly satisfied. I look at my hand and see blood. I feel the back of my neck again and find a cut. What in the world? Did the spider do that? The baby starts to cry again and now the sound is coming from the main hall. I make a right through the doorway out into the hall and see something go around the corner at the top of the stairs.

“HELLO? Is someone there?” I feel like running away and crying. Should I just leave and go find help? If no one else is here the baby needs help, I can’t just leave it here alone. I hear footsteps upstairs and then the baby is screaming. The sound is piercing my ears and breaking my heart. I run up the stairs as fast as I can, taking them two at a time. I go into the first room. It’s the bathroom. The shower curtain moves slightly. I’m holding my breath waiting for what feels like an eternity.

“Maybe it’s the baby.” I think to myself.

I slowly reach my hand out, take hold of the curtain, quickly draw it across and jump back at the same time. It’s empty. I hear the faint sound of a baby crying. It’s coming from the heater vent. That’s why it keeps sounding like it’s coming from all over the house! The baby must be in the basement and the sound is carrying into the vents!

I run down the stairs, make a left down the hallway, then a right, and find myself at the top of the basement stairs. I can hear the baby crying very loudly. This is definitely where that poor baby is. Through my panting I yell out, “I’m coming baby! I’m on my way! Don’t worry!”

WHAT will she find in the basement? Stay tuned for Part 3…

2 thoughts on “Sinister Abode: Part 2

  1. Pingback: Sinister Abode Part 1 | Amanda's Words

  2. Pingback: Sinister Abode Part 3 | Amanda's Words

Leave a Reply

