Book Review: Revival by Stephen King

The word revival has many meanings – restoration to life,Β an awakening, in a church or community, an evangelistic service or a series of services for the purpose of effecting a religious awakening – all of which can be found in this novel written by Stephen King. I finished reading it while on a flight from St.John’s, Newfoundland to Toronto, Ontario. The twist at the end caught me completely off-guard, and I had to remind myself to close my mouth and be aware that the people around me are probably getting quite a kick out of my facial expressions.

We meet Jamie Morton as a boy, and the Reverend Charles Jacobs as a young man who moves to Harlow, Maine, and follow them throughout five decades. The time passes quickly while reading, as it does in real life. Jamie and Charles battle their addictions, and question what happens to us after we die. Charles’ curiosity and imagination was disturbing, yet quite refreshing and surprisingly easy to relate to.

My heart ached for Jamie and Charles. Throughout their losses and struggles, life kept bringing them together. Even though I felt for them, and rooted for their success, I still felt angry and confused by some of their decisions. Would I really put it all on the line in order to save a high school sweetheart? If I was given the opportunity to see what happens after we die, would I take it?

No matter how outlandish King’s stories may seem, they are always rooted in truth. I would recommend this book to anyone who has an open mind about religion, and heaven. There are parts that will blow open your imagination, leaving your mouth gaping – be sure to read it alone if you don’t want those around you staring. πŸ™‚

Read more about Revival on Stephen King’s website

Experience Revival Audiobook Excerpts Read By David Morse

20151223_190331

Leave a Reply

