Book Review: Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire

harry_potter_and_the_goblet_of_fire

Interview with Lily-ann (9 years old) and Owen (7 years old)

Q: What do you think of the cover? Does the cover tell you what the book will be about?

Lily-ann: I like how the dragon is made. I like how it showed the golden egg. The cover does tell me what the book is about.

Owen: I like that Harry is flying away from the dragon, and that actually happened in the book.

Q: How is the readability? Do you like the choice of font size, chapter length? Was there a good amount of dialogue?

Lily-ann: The letters are not easy to read, they are too small. Chapter length was just right. Good amount of dialogue.

Owen: Owen agrees, except he thinks there was too much dialogue.

Q: What caught your attention? When were you bored? When was the book suspenseful?

Lily-ann: I was never bored. My favourite part was the first task. I like how the chapters ended with us wondering what was going to happen.

Owen: My favourite part of the book was when Harry was flying on his broom. I found it boring when they were just talking. This book was exciting.

Q: Who is your favourite character and why?

Lily-ann: Hermione because she goes through a lot of action, and she did what she wanted to do no matter what Harry and Ron thought. I also like that she is a bookworm, and I’m a bookworm too.

Owen: Harry because he is the main character. He faced the big dragon which means he faced the strongest dragon and that made him brave. He is also talented being brave and figuring out stuff.

Q: Which Harry Potter book has been your favourite so far?

Lily-ann: Chamber of Secrets

Owen: Chamber of Secrets

 

Amanda’s Review:

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, published in 2000, is the fourth book of the Harry Potter series. The first three are: Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone, Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets, and Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban.

The book begins with Harry Potter struggling through the Summer holidays, anxious to get back to Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. This coming year will be his fourth year at Hogwarts. His name is mysteriously entered into the Goblet of Fire, making him the fourth champion to take part in the Triwizard Tournament. Voldemort is regaining his strength. Harry and his friends, Ron, and Hermione, continue to face many challenges that threaten their lives. For the first time we get to meet students from two other schools, Beauxbatons and Durmstrang. We also get to meet Mad Eye Moody. This book is lengthy at 636 pages, but well worth every page.

I read Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire aloud to my children, and find that reading a book aloud gives me the opportunity to truly pay attention to its readability, and writing style. I quite enjoy J.K. Rowling’s writing. The chapter length is long, or at least it felt that way to me. We read one chapter per evening – and each chapter took about thirty minutes. I do all of the voices, and make it quite theatrical, which I will admit does slow the pace. I never found myself bored, and love the amount dialogue. Each character has a clear voice – however I have seen all of the Harry Potter movies, which provided each voice for me. I’m curious to see if other people who read the book first felt the same way.

My favourite character is Dumbledore. I love his quiet strength, intelligence, and bravery. He is truly cunning, witty, and powerful.

There are many parts of the book that made us all laugh out loud, and parts that made us cry. There were times I had to take a moment to breathe before I could continue reading. Some parts, such as the three tasks, were quite intense, I had to change some wording so it wouldn’t be too scary for Owen.

There are some words and phrases that I did not read aloud because I felt they were not appropriate for children. One that I can think of off the top of my head is the word “stupid”. We don’t allow that word to be used in our household. Perhaps that is a cultural difference (we are Canadian).

I’m enjoying the series tremendously, and would have to agree with my children that Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets is my favourite book of the series so far.

One thought on “Book Review: Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire

  1. Pingback: A to Z Book Tag | Smitten For Fiction

Leave a Reply

