Book Review: Dark Matter

I read Dark Matter for BorrowAThon – I borrowed this book from the library. My kids and I love our local library 🙂

dark-matter-blake-crouch

Dark Matter is a 340 page Suspense Science Fiction novel by Blake Crouch, the author of the Wayward Pines trilogy, which was turned into a TV show. Another TV show, Good Behavior is based on Crouch’s Letty Dobesh novellas.

Dark Matter begins with Dr. Jason Dressen enjoying a family night with his wife and son. He leaves to have a quick drink with a friend, who is an insanely successful scientist, and while walking home Dressen wonders what his life would have been like if he had focused on career instead of family, when he is kidnapped, knocked out, and wakes up in Velocity Laboratories, in a world that isn’t his – where he is not married, and his son was never born. He flees from Velocity Laboratories, running for his life, trying to figure out where he is, and how he can get home.

Crouch successfully melds science fiction and thriller, Dark Matter is a page-turner, which you will devour in one or two sittings. An action love story, about family, sacrifice, temptation, the many paths our lives can take, and the regret we may feel about certain choices. If you could, would you want to see your worlds of doors not opened?

I usually take a lot of notes when I read a book, writing plot points, characters, quotes I liked, themes, questions, etc…While reading Dark matter I did not write a single word. I thought at first I didn’t write anything because I didn’t like it. But, now as I write this review, I realize, perhaps I didn’t write a word because I didn’t want to put the book down.

I gave it 4 stars on Goodreads.

 

 

Leave a Reply

