Christmas Day

My day started quite early with my seven year old waking me at 4am; “Merry Christmas Mommy”, he said in the cutest kiddie voice ever. He thought by being cute about it would inspire me to jump outta bed at an insane hour, wake up his Daddy and sister, so he can open his gifts. He’s a funny guy. My husband and I tried to convince our son to go back to sleep, which was unsuccessful. We finally gave in around 6:30am LOL Our two kids opened their stockings while munching on Cheerios, and us adults drinking coffee, attempting to trick our brain to wake up feeling sleep-fulfilled.

We had a wonderful day opening gifts, playing board games, watching Christmas movies. In the afternoon my husband drove to his mom’s house so Grandma could open gifts with the kids. I roasted a turkey, with boiled potatoes, cabbage, turnip, and carrots, delicious dressing (Newfoundland version: bread, savory, butter, onion, salt, and pepper. Simple yet delicious) and gravy. Pumpkin pie with Cool Whip for dessert. I’m glad my tummy troubles from a few days beforehand were gone.

I hope you all had a wonderful Christmas Day. Merry Christmas, Happy Holidays!

Leave a Reply

