Book Review: Moms Who Drink and Swear: True Tales of Loving my Kids While Losing My Mind

WARNING: This post is for ADULT EYES ONLY.

momswhodrinkandswear

If you think Moms Who Drink And Swear: True Tales Of Loving My Kids While Losing My Mind was written by some crazy, unintelligent mother, then you couldn’t be more wrong. The author, Nicole Knepper, has a master’s degree in professional counseling psychology and a master’s degree in gerontology. The inspiration for this book come from her popular blog http://www.chicagonow.com/moms-who-drink-and-swear/

I laughed so much reading this book, and recommend it to ALL mothers. I also recommend this book to men, it will help you to better understand women – especially moms.

Here’s the back blurb:

“If you feel like your kids are killing you, you’ve come to the right place.

Attention all potty-mouthed, cheap-wine-drinking mothers: Prepare to meet your match. Any bad thought you’ve had about your kids. Nicole Knepper has had worse. Much worse. It’s not that she doesn’t love her kids. It’s that she understands what a mind-f*?% it can be to try to civilize those wild little beasts.”

To give you a better picture of the book, here are the names of some of the chapters:

Girlfriends, Genitals and Growing Up
Kitty’s Got PMS – this chapter includes the “hat trick” of free info for men
The Vagina Dialogues
Fuck You Dinner, Make Yourself
Dinner is Like Herpes
Caring for Children without Crushing Their Souls
Suck it, Santa Claus

Quotes from the book:

“…Sometimes I am just overwhelmed by how much I’m needed” page 56. I have had this exact same thought at least once a day for the past ten years.

“The girl can film and edit a stop-motion Littlest Pet Shop video on her iPad, but she can’t pour herself a glass of orange juice because it’s too hard?”  HAHAHAHA! My son can also make stop-motion videos, and yet will not get himself a glass of milk! Oh please, give me the patience.

The relationship Nicole had with her father reminded me of the relationship I had with my late step father, Roger. He was my step dad from when I was about eight years old until he died when I was twenty-one. Nicole writes: “And I really miss fighting with him: our competitive and never-ending attempts to prove each other wrong and push each other’s buttons were truly vital to our relationship. It was through all these battles, disagreements and fiery , intense conversations that our mutual love and respect for each other grew into an important relationship.” page 133

Nicole gave me, as a mom, the ability to accept my mistakes and realize no one is perfect. We are not alone. Being a mom is hard, we all have our own way of dealing with challenges – and as long as we aren’t hurting anyone or ourselves, then we need to stop judging each other for every single parenting decision.

You can also check out the Facebook Page Moms Who Drink and Swear

One thought on “Book Review: Moms Who Drink and Swear: True Tales of Loving my Kids While Losing My Mind

  1. Pingback: January TBR | Amanda's Words

Leave a Reply

