Reader Problems Tag #TagTuesday

I tag anyone who wants to do this tag – Feel free to link your tag in the comments 🙂

Questions are at the bottom of post for easy copy/paste.

owl-158411__340

1. You have 20,000 books on your TBR. How in the world do you decide what to read next?

I read books sent to me for review first, after that I’ll read the library book that’s due back before the others. It seems like I always have a book to review or a library book due (or one that I’ve had on hold is ready for pick up), so the physical books on my bookshelf that I haven’t read yet are piling up. As of right now I have no books to review, and have three books out from the library. 🙂

I’m also taking part in a few reading challenges on Goodreads: Dewey Decimal, and A to Z Location, and also the Fantasy Book Bingo challenge on Reddit r/fantasy group, so they also help determine which book I read next.

2. You’re halfway through a book and you’re just not loving it. Do you quit or are you committed?

I find it very, very, very hard to quit on a book. It doesn’t happen very often at all, maybe half a dozen times in my life. I like to finish it so I can get the whole picture and be able to give a more accurate review. The curious cat in me likes to know what happens, even if I don’t like what’s happening or how it’s being told, etc…

cat-2083492__340

3. The end of the year is coming and you’re so close, but so far away on your Goodreads reading challenge. Do you try to catch up and how?

Ignore all households chores and mommy duties. HAHAHA joking! Naw, I read for pleasure, so I’m not too hung up on “deadlines”.

4. The covers of a series you love do. not. match. How do you cope?

Doesn’t bother me.

5. Every one and their mother loves a book you really don’t like. Who do you bond with over shared feelings?

Everyone has their own personal taste, and things happening in their life which change the way they perceive a story. The online reading world has opened up a whole new group of bookworms to chat with about books. I love to chat about books on Goodreads, Facebook, blogs, and “Booktube”.

6. You’re reading a book and you are about to start crying in public. How do you deal?

I don’t like to show emotion in public and have become a suppress-emotion Master Ninja. LOL I wait until I’m home alone, or with a close friend or husband, then let the tears flow while eating chocolate.

7. A sequel of a book you loved just came out, but you’ve forgotten a lot from the prior novel. Will you re-read the book? Skip the sequel? Try to find a synopsis on Goodreads? Cry in frustration?!?!?!?

I read the first seven or eight books from the Sword of Truth series by Terry Goodkind then got busy with University, work, kids, etc…I have plans this year to re-read the series, starting at the first book…maybe read one per month or every other month.  I also want to do the same for The Wheel of Time series by Robert Jordan.

8. You do not want anyone. ANYONE. borrowing your books. How do you politely tell people nope when they ask?

Anytime I have  borrowed a book I NEVER get it back. I feel like I need to put library card holders in the back of them or something LOL

9. Reading ADD. You’ve picked up and put down 5 books in the last month. How do you get over your reading slump?

I don’t usually read more than one book at a time…right now I have a few going because I started Man Gone Down but find that to be a very slow read. I started Wyrd Sisters but the e-book was due back to library, and someone else had it on hold…so now I have it on hold to finish it. SO then I started book one of the Outlander series. But – I picked up Thirteen Reasons Why which was on hold at the library, and it’s a fast turn around book, so it’s due back before Outlander…so it kinda makes sense to read that first right? 😛

10. There are so many new books coming out that you’re dying to read! How many do you actually buy?

My local library has books for sale super cheap so whenever I go I always check to see what’s on the sale shelf. I sometimes buy books from Bookoutlet.ca, but not often. My book buying budget is small, so I make great use of our local library 🙂

11. After you’ve bought the new books you can’t wait to get to, how long do they sit on your shelf before you get to them?

*Hangs head in shame* My bookshelf is filling up quickly with books I bought but haven’t read yet. I would say the one that’s been there waiting the longest has been waiting for a year or so. I plan on reading them all in 2017.

 

★QUESTIONS:
1. You have 20,000 books on your TBR. How in the world do you decide what to read next?
2. You’re halfway through a book and you’re just not loving it. Do you quit or are you committed?
3. The end of the year is coming and you’re so close, but so far away on your Goodreads reading challenge. Do you try to catch up and how?
4. The covers of a series you love do. not. match. How do you cope?
5. Every one and their mother loves a book you really don’t like. Who do you bond with over shared feelings?
6. You’re reading a book and you are about to start crying in public. How do you deal?
7. A sequel of a book you loved just came out, but you’ve forgotten a lot from the prior novel. Will you re-read the book? Skip the sequel? Try to find a synopsis on Goodreads? Cry in frustration?!?!?!?
8. You do not want anyone. ANYONE. borrowing your books. How do you politely tell people nope when they ask?
9. Reading ADD. You’ve picked up and put down 5 books in the last month. How do you get over your reading slump?
10. There are so many new books coming out that you’re dying to read! How many do you actually buy?
11. After you’ve bought the new books you can’t wait to get to, how long do they sit on your shelf before you get to them?

Leave a Reply

