Thirteen Reasons Why #FirstChapterFirstParagraph

I’ve had Thirteen Reasons Why on hold at my local library for awhile now, so when it became available I put aside Outlander.ย Here’s the first chapter first paragraph:

“”Sir?” she repeats. “How soon do you want it to get there?”

I rub two fingers, hard, over my left eyebrow. The throbbing has become intense. “It doesn’t matter”, I say.

The clerk takes the package. The same shoebox that sat on my porch less than twenty-four hours ago; rewrapped in a brown paper bag, sealed with clear packing tape, exactly as I had received it. But now addressed with a new name. The next name on Hannah Baker’s list.

“Baker’s dozen,” I mumble. Then I feel disgusted for even noticing it.”

 

Leave a Reply

