April TBR [2018]

This month is all about Mysteries, Thrillers, and Fantasies. I highly doubt I’ll get to all of these this month. I’m working on finishing series that I’ve started and haven’t finished LOL Have you read any of these?

 

Some of the best from Tor 2016

 

Some of the Best From Tor.com (2016 Edition)

Published by Tor.com Jan 2017

Fantasy/Science Fiction/Anthology

667 pages

An anthology of 25 of Tor.com’s favorite short stories and novelettes selected from the 57 stories they have published in 2016. These stories were acquired and edited for Tor.com by Ellen Datlow, Ann VanderMeer, Carl Engle-Laird, Liz Gorinsky, Patrick Nielsen Hayden, Justin Landon, Diana Pho, and Miriam Weinberg. Each story is accompanied by an original illustration.

The man who died.jpg

The Man Who Died (ARC – May Release)

By Antti Tuomainen

Orenda Books

Adult Fiction/Mystery/Crime/Thriller

245 pages

A successful entrepreneur in the mushroom industry, Jaakko Kaunismaa is a man in his prime. At just 37 years of age, he is shocked when his doctor tells him that he’s dying. What is more, the cause is discovered to be prolonged exposure to toxins; in other words, someone has slowly but surely been poisoning him. Determined to find out who wants him dead, Jaakko embarks on a suspenseful rollercoaster journey full of unusual characters, bizarre situations and unexpected twists.

With a nod to Fargo and the best elements of the Scandinavian noir tradition, The Man Who Died is a page-turning thriller brimming with the blackest comedy surrounding life and death, and love and betrayal, marking a stunning new departure for the King of Helsinki Noir.”

findyouinthedark

 

Find You in the Dark (ARC – May Release)

By Nathan Ripley

Published by Text Publishing

Adult Fiction/Mystery/Thriller

336 pages

“A chilling debut thriller in the vein of Dexter and The Talented Mr Ripley.

A Note From the Publisher

 

blue lily, lily blue

Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater

Blue Lily, Lily Blue (The Raven Cycle Book 3)

Maggie Stiefvater

Published October 2014 by Scholastic Press

YA Fantasy/Paranormal/Magic

391 pages

Blue Sargent has found things. For the first time in her life, she has friends she can trust, a group to which she can belong. The Raven Boys have taken her in as one of their own. Their problems have become hers, and her problems have become theirs.

The trick with found things, though, is how easily they can be lost.

Friends can betray.
Mothers can disappear.
Visions can mislead.
Certainties can unravel.”

Crooked Kingdom

 

Crooked Kingdom (Six of Crows #2)

By Leigh Bardugo

Published Sept 2016 by Orion Children’s Books

YA Fantasy

536 pages

Kaz Brekker and his crew have just pulled off a heist so daring even they didn’t think they’d survive. But instead of divvying up a fat reward, they’re right back to fighting for their lives. Double-crossed and badly weakened, the crew is low on resources, allies, and hope. As powerful forces from around the world descend on Ketterdam to root out the secrets of the dangerous drug known as jurda parem, old rivals and new enemies emerge to challenge Kaz’s cunning and test the team’s fragile loyalties. A war will be waged on the city’s dark and twisting streets―a battle for revenge and redemption that will decide the fate of the Grisha world.

Our Dark Duet

 

Our Dark Duet (Monsters of Verity #2)

By Victoria Schwab

Published June 2017 by Greenwillow Books

YA Fantasy/Paranormal

510 pages

THE WORLD IS BREAKING. AND SO ARE THEY.

KATE HARKER isn’t afraid of monsters. She hunts them. And she’s good at it.

AUGUST FLYNN once yearned to be human. He has a part to play. And he will play it, no matter the cost.

THE WAR HAS BEGUN.

THE MONSTERS ARE WINNING.

Kate will have to return to Verity. August will have to let her back in. And a new monster is waiting—one that feeds on chaos and brings out its victims’ inner demons.

Which will be harder to conquer: the monsters they face, or the monsters within?”

Gemina.jpg

 

Gemina (The Illuminae Files #2)

By Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

Published Oct 2016 by Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers

YA Sci-Fi

659 pages

Moving to a space station at the edge of the galaxy was always going to be the death of Hanna’s social life. Nobody said it might actually get her killed.

The sci-fi saga that began with the breakout bestseller Illuminae continues on board the Jump Station Heimdall, where two new characters will confront the next wave of the BeiTech assault.

Hanna is the station captain’s pampered daughter; Nik the reluctant member of a notorious crime family. But while the pair are struggling with the realities of life aboard the galaxy’s most boring space station, little do they know that Kady Grant and the Hypatia are headed right toward Heimdall, carrying news of the Kerenza invasion.

When an elite BeiTech strike team invades the station, Hanna and Nik are thrown together to defend their home. But alien predators are picking off the station residents one by one, and a malfunction in the station’s wormhole means the space-time continuum might be ripped in two before dinner. Soon Hanna and Nik aren’t just fighting for their own survival; the fate of everyone on the Hypatia—and possibly the known universe—is in their hands.

But relax. They’ve totally got this. They hope.”

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s