New Poetry Book “Take Me With You” {Review}

All of my reviews are always SPOILER FREE 🙂

I received an advanced copy in exchange for my honest, unbiased opinion. Thank you to the publisher, author, and NetGalley, for allowing me to review.

Take me with you

Title: Take Me With You

Author:  Andrea Gibson

Genre: Poetry, LGBTQIA

Publisher: Plume Books

Date published: Expected Publication January 23, 2018

Page Count: 193

 

synopsis

“For readers of Rupi Kaur (Milk and Honey) and Cheryl Strayed, a book small enough to carry with you, with messages big enough to stay with you, from one of the most quotable and influential poets of our time.

Andrea Gibson explores themes of love, gender, politics, sexuality, family, and forgiveness with stunning imagery and a fierce willingness to delve into the exploration of what it means to heal and to be different in this strange age. Take Me With You, illustrated throughout with evocative line drawings by Sarah J. Coleman, is small enough to fit in your bag, with messages that are big enough to wake even the sleepiest heart. Divided into three sections (love, the world, and becoming) of one liners, couplets, greatest hits phrases, and longer form poems, it has something for everyone, and will be placed in stockings, lockers, and the hands of anyone who could use its wisdom”

 

My Review

Take Me With You is a poetry pocket book highlighting a wide variety of relatable topics, split into three sections: Love, The World, and On Becoming. These poems talk about the good and bad parts of love: how it feels to love someone, to be loved, and to have your heart broken. Gibson also tackles big themes about the world such as creation versus destruction, women’s rights, the internal struggle of someone who is transgender, feminism, heaven, the broken parts of America, gun violence, tolerance, veterans, war, the pressures social media put on us, and kindness. In the last section titled “On Becoming” Gibson shares thoughts on struggling painfully through mental health challenges like anxiety in order to end up at a place where you love ALL of yourself, including the flaws which help to make you who you are.

After reading other reviews I think the final book is three long poems rather than a bunch of short poems. I read the ebook version which had each poem on a different page. Reading these words as three long poems would be a completely different experience.

There are some insightful and unique comparisons such as, needing someone as much as the moon needs the sea, or comparing a room in a home to the palm of a hand, or how in Autumn the leaves fall as if they are in love with the ground.

Either way, Take Me With You is a delightful little book about HOPE and I would recommend this to everyone, especially to readers who want to read more poetry that isn’t filled with complicated prose.

About the author

Andrea Gibson is an award-winning poet and activist who lives in Boulder, Colorado. Their poetry focuses on gender norms, politics, social reform and the struggles LGBTQ people face in today’s society. In addition to using poetry to express what they feel and provide social and political commentary on real issues, they are involved with many activist groups. They often perform at Take Back the Night events, LGBTQ events, pride events, trans events, anti-war rallies, peace rallies, organizations against the occupation of Palestine, and groups focused on examining the wrongs of capitalism, patriarchy and white supremacy. They also work with a group called Vox Feminista whose model is to “comfort the disturbed and disturb the comfortable” on all these issues. Throughout the year, they tour Universities and other venues across the country.https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/457281.Andrea_Gibson

Check out Andrea’s website: https://www.andreagibson.org/

 

 

 

 

 

Advertisements

#BorrowAThon Haiku about Dark Matter

I’m taking part in #BorrowAThon – a week where we read books which were borrowed from friends, the library, etc…

Today the challenge is to write a Haiku about the book we are currently reading. I wrote my Haiku about Dark Matter by Blake Crouch.

Jason Dressen snatched
Wakes in a different world
Where is wife and son?

 

Eclipse #poem #TBT #ThrowBackThursday

A poem I wrote about 20 years ago (around 14 or 15 years old)

Eclipse

All that you touch
All that you see
All that you taste

All that you feel
All that you love
All that you hate

All you distrust
All that you save
All that you give
All that you deal
All that you buy
beg, borrow, or steal

All you create
All you destroy

All that you do
All that you say

All that you eat
Everyone you meet
All that you slight
Everyone you fight

All that is now
All that is gone
All that’s to come

And everything under the sun
Is in tune
While the sun is eclipsed
By the moon.

Did you ever love someone? #poem

Did you ever Love Someone?

Did you ever
Love someone,
But you knew
They didn’t care?

Did you ever feel
Like crying,
But you knew
You’d get nowhere?

Do you look
Into their hearts
And wish that
You were there?

Did you watch them walk away,
Not wanting them to go.
Whispering, “I love you,”
But you never let them know?

You cry all night in misery,
You almost go insane.
There’s nothing in this whole wide world
That causes so much pain.

If I could choose between love and death,
I think I’d rather die.
Love is fun, but it hurts so much,
The price you pay is high.

So, I say, don’t fall in love.
You’ll get hurt before it’s through.
You see, my friend, I ought to know,
Because I fell in love with you.

Written by Amanda Drover-Hartwick
1998

Cometh to Me #poem

A poem written by me February 3, 1998 (I was 16 years old).

Sweet raven flying
high above
you taketh my
heart
cometh back with
my heart

Sweet raven towering
higher, higher
farther, farther
away from me
cometh back with
my soul

Cometh to me
sweet raven
and we’ll start
all over again
the clouds, thunder
and rain
will fly away

Cometh with my
heart and soul
that you have
taketh away

Without faith
there is no love
without hope
the heart would break

Sweet raven have
faith and hope
in us, cometh
to me with your heart.